Check status
Vietnam Visa ×
Support 8:00 - 22:00 (GMT+7)

Visa exemptions for Vietnamese citizens

April 08, 2015 0 COMMENT

With ordinary passports, Vietnamese citizens can travel freely to 44 countries in the world without needing to first obtain a visa.

Visa exemptions for Vietnamese citizens

This figure is higher than some Asian countries, such as China (43), the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (41), Iran and Myanmar (40).

According to the latest data gathered and updated in March 2015, Vietnam has signed visa exemption agreements with 79 countries, 76 of which are already in effect.

However, most of these visa waiver agreements relate specifically to diplomatic passport holders or ordinary passport holders who work at diplomatic agencies and international organisations. Therefore, these agreements don’t impact normal citizens.

Vietnamese tourists can travel to these countries with six-month valid passports

Currently nine Southeast Asian countries waive visa regulations for Vietnamese citizens, with different duration times.

For example, in Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand, citizens may visit for a maximum 30 days, Myanmar a maximum of 14 days, and the Philippines a maximum of 21 days.

Additionally, several American countries (Cuba, Haiti, Ecuador, Uruguay, Costa Rica and Panama) have exempted visas for Vietnamese citizens. Vietnamese must apply for a visa to visit any places in the Republic of Korea, except Jeju island.


Oct 20, 2016

Trip to Danang Vietnam from Melbourne, Australia

Da Nang is a city located in the south certral coast of Vietnam, considered as one of the famous tourist cities in Vietnam. You can easily find many advantages there...

Read More ›
Dec 28, 2015

How to avoid some minors of Vietnam visa on arrival?

In reality, the number of foreigners using visa on arrival to go to Vietnam is dramatically increasing. No wonder that this type of visa has many pros; however, everything has...

Read More ›
Nov 12, 2015

Vietnam visa fees to be cut in November to boost tourist arrivals

Starting November 23, the single-entry visa will go down US$25 instead of the current US$45, whereas the fee for multiple-entry visas valid for up to 3 months will reduce from...

Read More ›
Aug 05, 2015

Entry Vietnam visas to be issued within five days

(Vietnamvisa) - The Ministry of Public Security on July 6 issued Circular No. 31/2015/TT-BCA to guide the grant of visas, temporary residence cards, exit and entry permits and permanent residence...

Read More ›